New Reviewer
I insist this letter is sent to Head office . Bought my ticket B6B03A on 13 Dec21 Ben az to Min Tx Upon boarding my ticket was checked and approved. When reaching Beaumont I asked the conductor on estimated time of arrival in Mineola Tx whereupon he informed me I was...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3468859 Review #3468859 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Palm Coast, Florida
Loss
$530
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Too many phone calls

Amtrak - Too many phone calls
Amtrak - Too many phone calls
P please no more time on the phone they give you the wrong phone number then they tell you call this number and it's the wrong number I don't think a damn person knows what the hell's going on over there all of the actual services in as bad as the phone service believe me any competition coming and watch out....... My future recommendation to another customer be prepared to be aggravatedb bring pillows and aspirin

User's recommendation: It's overrated.

View full review
ID
#3247945 Review #3247945 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Commerce, California
Cons
  • Horrible customer service
Loss
$100
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I planned to use AMTRAK for travel between CVS and TRE and then TRE to ALX. I saw AMTRAK's pledge to refund travel through January 4, 2022: this turns out NOT TO BE AN ACCURATE PROMISE. I am 70-years old and was planning to visit households with unvaccinated children...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3191952 Review #3191952 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Service to ne cities
Cons
  • Customer service severely limited
  • Lack of response to covid-19 pandemic concerns
Loss
$123
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
I made my return roundtrip on Res # 87ABD2, on Train 22 on Nov 2, 2021. There was a great distance from the 1 step stool they offered to where the floor of the train was. I complained that it was impossible for anyone to board from that distance. The...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3038512 Review #3038512 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Richardson, Texas
Pros
  • Power outlets
  • Great seat spacing
Cons
  • Boarding
Preferred solution
Upgrafe to roomette for one year on next trip

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Amtrak Website

Amtrak had a decent website 10 years ago. What happened? The last 2 times I've tried to book a trip the website has made it impossible to complete the process. I have had to finish the process on the telephone. The recording that one must talk to, often can't understand what is being said or doesn't wait to hear what is said in reply. The customer ends up needing a call back from a real person to get everything straight. We used to love traveling by Amtrak, but a terrible booking process makes it not worth the effort. If Amtrak were a private business, competition would not let it survive for very long.

User's recommendation: Don't waste time on the website call directly to book.

View full review
ID
#3028563 Review #3028563 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Redesigned website
New Reviewer

Resolved: Cafe car

Update by user Sep 09, 2021

Just a suggestion.

Original review posted by user Sep 09, 2021
Morning time is coffee time. New rules concerning COVID precautions allow cards only unless it is a tip. Today the computer system is out so all sales ended. Amtrak needs to give out coffee in this situation. Something must be done to correct this issue. Passengers smelling coffee and not allowed to purchase is a sad situation. Please correct this policy to please Amtrak passengers.

User's recommendation: Give out free coffee until the issue is corrected.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#2854377 Review #2854377 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lafayette, Indiana
Pros
  • Great service
  • Excellent staff
  • Helpfulness of some employees

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bought wrong ticket

Amtrak - Bought wrong ticket
I purchase a round trip ticket from New York Penn Station to Baltimore MA. Penn Station and unfortunately a didn't notice the return ticket was for 5:20am which I wanted 5:20pm, but I never used the web to buy a ticket, so this process was new to me , I tried calling but the only response was Automated which I couldn't get all my questions answered. But never the less I screwed up, I'm still waiting for a response from Amtrak. on a responce from Amtrak waiting for a respo Amtrak

User's recommendation: I would recommend that if your not sure and a first time purchasing a ticket to try and get a live Agent to speak with.

View full review
ID
#2737919 Review #2737919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$129
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Booking a trip

I called yesterday to reserve a trip called back today to pay for it was put on hold for a hour called back waited for a call back never got the call back if you like to reach me you can do so at 323 399 **** thanks
View full review
ID
#2644810 Review #2644810 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Friendly employees
Cons
  • Food
  • Confusing policies
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Absolutely terrible website.

I want to know the regular train times, when they leave, on what days, and then try to figure a travel schedule from that. Can't do that as you have to put in travel dates to get any info. Maybe I'm missing something, but if I am, its because they are making it very difficult to find.

User's recommendation: Good luck.

View full review
ID
#2619843 Review #2619843 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Watertown, New York

Bad experience

Amtrak has a new crop of reservation people when you call 1-800-USA-RAIL, and they don;t know beans! These *** issued me a ticket for a train going the wrong direction. I spoke very clearly that I wanted to go from Philadelphia to New York. The conductor was very nice and assisted me in making the change, but explained that since the people at the phone number are contracted, they have had a lot of problems.
View full review
ID
#1842123 Review #1842123 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Amtrak Customer Care
Pros
  • Initiative of some employees
Cons
  • See review

Lexi gave shoddy service.

I made train reservations on August 30, 2019. The first agent made incorrect reservations so I had to call again. The second agent making reservation said her name was Lexi. She was not familiar with how to make the reservations. I have to travel by bus to Amtrak station. Amtrak always included this in my reservations. I had to explain this to Lexi giving her the time bus departs etc. (I travel this route often.) I was asking her questions making sure I am understanding her correctly. She got an attitdude. I told her she did not have to get one. While still asking questions, she hung up on me. E-mailed me a reservation that was not thorough and incomplete. if you rate the agent after the call and give all ones, Amtrak rating system will say they had trouble with your survey and hang up. I called Amtrak a third time and FORTUNATELY got a WONDERFUL. agent who was patient, knowledgeable and thorough. She took time to get me on the correct buses trains business class, cabins etc. I rated this agent all 5's and Amtrak accepted the survey. Making reservations recently, I have found Amtrak agents are not as knowledgeable or may not know how to schedule a complete trip. I had to make this reservation THREE times because the first two agents were not knowledgeable and one of them had a bad attitude. The best thing aboit the trip is once you get past scheduling and Greyhound bus, the rest of the trip train ride us AWESOME!!!
View full review
ID
#1651841 Review #1651841 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Houston, Texas
Service
Amtrak Customer Care
Reason of review
Order processing issue

Sunday Experience

My sister and I are both older. We boarded and Acela Train in Washington DC at one o clock and went to New York. After reading comments like these on this website and others, we were both a bit hesitant. Still Amtrak is the most convenient from city to city, and off we went. The Conductor greeted us cheerfully, recognized that I needed help during the trip, even getting food for us from the club car. When the train got to New York, he made sure a porter helped us from the train to the taxi stand. With all of the negative comments about the staff, I think it's worthwhile to praise those who really deserve it. He deserves it and then some. Bless you sir, Bless you.
View full review
ID
#1459036 Review #1459036 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bowie, Maryland
Service
Amtrak Conductor
Pros
  • Employees that go the extra mile
Reason of review
Good customer service
New Reviewer

Lousy Online Service

I purchase a train ticket to travel to Houston, TX. I do not like purchasing online; howecer, since I could find a customer service number for them via websites I viewed, my only was purchasing ticket purchase online. December 18, 2018, I departed. Louisville, KY via Greyhound bus at 12:05 AM and arrived into Indianapolis, IN Greyhound/AMTRAK station at 2:00 AM. My travel had me arriving one day too early which would have me waiting about 27 hours for next train to Chicago. The agent was kind enough to try getting me on the train. He was successful getting me on 851 Hoosier to Chicago,IL but could not get me on the 21 to Longview, TX. So they sent me back to Louisville to leave out tonight so I can get the train I am scheduled for. Very nice of them. As a result of this online ticket booking, Greyhound lost my luggage. Not AMTRAK's fault. However, I believe if AMTRAK made it more accessible for one to contact a himan scheduling agent, this problem migjt have been avoided. My clothing and business documents are lost and no agent at Greyhound Indiapolis IN gives a hill of beans about it. I like traveling AMTRAK. I fear using them again. If AMTRAK train departs from Louisville KY again, I may use them. PLEASE make contacting human scheduling agents accessible. The human brain would not have one's layover tine to be 27 hours. Thanks for trying.
View full review
ID
#1427303 Review #1427303 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
Service
Amtrak Train Service
Reason of review
Bad quality

Passengers stink

Coach car smelled like *** for the entire trip from Los Angeles to Chicago. Not the fault of Amtrak, just nasty people who don't care enough about personal hygiene to shower and put on clean clothes before traveling. The car attendant tried and tried to cover the smell with air freshener, but you can't spray people. Its disgusting that people travel smeling like hot garbage.
View full review
ID
#1200590 Review #1200590 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Just horrible service. The "people" behind the counter, for the most part, are complete *** I was travelling from Oceanside to Fullerton and looked at the schedule the evening prior to my departure. When I arrived at the Oceanside station, the *** said that the next...
View full review
View full review
2 comments
#1395234

These are the same people that give local DMV a bad reputation. They dont give a crap about their passengers, they are rude, non-caring and just overall extremely unprofessional. Even in their VIP Club Acela (in Penn Station NYC) they have a click, joking, laughling boisterius, very unprofessional attitude; more like a ghetto attitude to be honest

View more comments
ID
#1119443 Review #1119443 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Amtrak Customer Care
Pros
  • Comfort of seating and the fact that you have a club car
Cons
  • Jerks working for you
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Make it better, please!

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article