Amtrak Reviews

Show reviews that mention
train service trip station customer service customer people car ticket conductor
Filter review
Most helpful review
12/11/17 - I went in to make reservations for a round trip from Washington DC to NYC, and back. I messed with it for 20 minutes and couldn't get a return ticket. It used to be easy. No wonder these *** are losing money. I'll fly or drive. *** them. Why do I...
View full review
View full review
36 comments
#2040551

Amtrak website is a complete joke. Spent 20 minutes trying to find fares.

I can find a fare for an airline on any airline website in 60 seconds. FARCICAL.

View more comments
ID
#1146175 Review #1146175 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Amtrak Website
Cons
  • Website
Reason of review
See what I wrote
New Reviewer

Resolved: Cafe car

Update by user Sep 09, 2021

Just a suggestion.

Original review posted by user Sep 09, 2021
Morning time is coffee time. New rules concerning COVID precautions allow cards only unless it is a tip. Today the computer system is out so all sales ended. Amtrak needs to give out coffee in this situation. Something must be done to correct this issue. Passengers smelling coffee and not allowed to purchase is a sad situation. Please correct this policy to please Amtrak passengers.

User's recommendation: Give out free coffee until the issue is corrected.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#2854377 Review #2854377 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lafayette, Indiana
Pros
  • Helpfulness of some employees
  • Great service
  • Excellent staff

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Pissed been taking to this assistant who knows nothing can't even get a phone to ring I should just fly

Nobody answered I need to book Julie don't help on online for 7 hours on hold......need a person now . This is ridiculous how can you run a business like this so frustrating f

User's recommendation: Fly.

View full review
ID
#2843270 Review #2843270 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Answers
New Reviewer

I haven't received my email confirmation for two tickets that I ourchased

I purchased two tickets and I havent received my email confirmation in my email. Ive checked my account and Amtrak has charged my bank card for the two ticket purchases

User's recommendation: Keep calling.

View full review
ID
#2835220 Review #2835220 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Schaumburg, Illinois
New Reviewer
I had an experience with Amtrak my first experience actually where I had taken a trip from food from Florida to PA with a connecting train in DC. The train was held up between Florida and North Carolina several hours and I was going to be late so I had to be picked up...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2829498 Review #2829498 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • No explanation for delays
  • Lack of information
Loss
$354
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Terrible customer service

Horrible - Ive been on the phone for 4 hours and 15 minutes trying to book travel. When an agent finally answers, I cant get him to actually even book the travel
View full review
ID
#2822582 Review #2822582 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bloomfield, Connecticut

Book tickets

Can't seem to book a ticket my grand daughter has covid n ibcant get a descent priced ride to port Isabelle texas
View full review
ID
#2799963 Review #2799963 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Austin, Texas

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Hurricane Henri Change Date Penalty

300% Penalty accessed due to hurricane forced change in travel. Safety should come 1st. It should never be a money making opportunity to take advantage of due to a hurricane warning. 3x times what was originally paid over 3 months before the scheduled trip. Asking Amtrak to do the right thing and eliminate surcharge considering the Hurricane warning.
View full review
ID
#2799545 Review #2799545 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$53
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bad Vacation Made Worse

Missed my train in part due to misinformation from Amtrak. Also am not able to log on the website and the toll free number has been busy for many days now. I couldn't get a hold of anyone and am ading for either a credit or refund.

User's recommendation: You're in your own.

View full review
1 comment
#2051463

Update: Amtrak gave me a complete refund. However, they still didn't notify me in any way.

Instead, I found out when I called my bank. Nice, but they still won't tell you what's going on.

ID
#2797820 Review #2797820 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$60
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Need reimbursement information

i made reservation and i finally did not traveled and they charged me $222 and the next day they charged my bank card another $253 again
View full review
ID
#2792199 Review #2792199 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$475
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Fresh air smoke stops

Update by user Aug 10, 2021

All other smoke stops r usually announced

Update by user Aug 10, 2021

No one has apologized

Original review posted by user Aug 10, 2021
#98 Silver meteor Miami to New York in Savannah Ga-No announcement was made about this stop being a smoke stop when I asked why there was no announcement I was told we did not announce it on purpose ..so why? I can smoke in 30secs but Amtrak needs to announce this as a smoke stop ..this should be necessary and no announcement is Totally UNACCEPTABLE if u wish for ur guests to continue to ride the train as a CHOICE for travel this should be corrected -smoke stops announced PLZ

User's recommendation: If Amtrak doesn’t fix this don’t choose Amtrak.

View full review
2 comments
#2054976

I found out more information about this subject .. some train crews r really nice and some are not… so sad that I am not as important as dogs or kids or freight trains that often delay trains yet : I have rode almost every single Amtrak and never seen a smoker delay a train .. they don’t want to be left behind for a drag!

#2051616

Smoking weed in the dining car can be hazardous to your appetite.

View more comments (1)
ID
#2760496 Review #2760496 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Savannah, Georgia
Service
Amtrak Train Service
Pros
  • Great travel choice
Cons
  • No announced smoke break
Preferred solution
Apology

Frustration

The website is awful, but I've figured out how to get my trip...but now it won't take any of the 4 credit cards I've tried to enter (from the UK)... Very embarrassing. The CIO should be fired. Waiting on hold to book a ticket...waiting...waiting...No one has picked up after 25 minutes...

User's recommendation: Awful Booking Technology.

View full review
ID
#2740609 Review #2740609 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Oceanside, California
Pros
  • Dont have to drive in traffic
Cons
  • Awful booking experience

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Bought wrong ticket

Amtrak - Bought wrong ticket
I purchase a round trip ticket from New York Penn Station to Baltimore MA. Penn Station and unfortunately a didn't notice the return ticket was for 5:20am which I wanted 5:20pm, but I never used the web to buy a ticket, so this process was new to me , I tried calling but the only response was Automated which I couldn't get all my questions answered. But never the less I screwed up, I'm still waiting for a response from Amtrak. on a responce from Amtrak waiting for a respo Amtrak

User's recommendation: I would recommend that if your not sure and a first time purchasing a ticket to try and get a live Agent to speak with.

View full review
ID
#2737919 Review #2737919 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$129
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Bus location

We are catching the California supper in Emeryville California and we’re supposed to get on bus number 5006 for transport but I do not know where that is located
View full review
ID
#2822899 Review #2822899 is a subjective opinion of poster.
New Reviewer

Change reservation

Can we use my paid reservation to the next trip? From Los Angeles Union Station to San Diego, CA. Thanks
View full review
ID
#2709722 Review #2709722 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Change my reservation
New Reviewer

Abuse!

WtfI was made to Carry my Baggage after having Spine Surgery?!?!?!.I was laughed at and made fun of. Can someone call me back on this asap???

User's recommendation: Don't know yet.

View full review
1 comment
#2037939

IF you can't handle your bags, have someone travel with you. It's not their responsibility. Your medical issues are irrelevant.

ID
#2704817 Review #2704817 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Syracuse, New York
Preferred solution
Will discuss over phone.

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article