Most helpful review

Website Sucks

12/11/17 - I went in to make reservations for a round trip from Washington DC to NYC, and back. I messed with it for 20 minutes and couldn't get a return ticket. It used to be easy. No wonder these *** are losing money. I'll fly or drive. *** them. Why do I...
View full review
View full review
52 comments
#2179058

it's 2022 and it's still horrible! It is just sitting there waiting, i guess, for me to enter a return date, even though I selected the "One Way" option from their choice area. It is literally doing nothing to help me see if there are any train trip options going from one place to another

View more comments
ID
#1146175 Review #1146175 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Amtrak Website
Cons
  • Website
Reason of review
See what I wrote
New Reviewer

Resolved: Customer relations. Complaint

Update by user Aug 16, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology.

Original review posted by user Aug 16, 2022
Rude agent at Penn Station Train announcements were made late, was not able to sit with wife on the way to Washington

User's recommendation: Address rude agents. Announce train departure at least half hour before train leaves.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#3858210 Review #3858210 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
Pros
  • Dependable service
Cons
  • Occasion rude station agents
Preferred solution
Address rude agents Announce trains at least half hour before departure
New Reviewer

Refund

Amtrak - Refund
I had a ADA paratransit bus that was supposed to pick me up between 2:30 and 3:00 to bring me to train. It didn't come until 3:15 then the driver did not know how to use wheelchair lift.bdidnot get me to train station until 3:40 for a 3:45 departure. Could not find elevator for track two so by the time I got to train it had left
View full review
ID
#3855847 Review #3855847 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hyde Park, New York
Loss
$66
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Find out departure time to west plalm from Tampa

Amtrak - Find out departure time to west plalm from Tampa
I was delayed for 3 days due to mismanagement on departure times..it cost me 60 dollars in Uber and extensive confusion..I would like a refund please

User's recommendation: Check departure times..allow 3-5 hours delayed.

View full review
ID
#3854983 Review #3854983 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tampa, Florida
Pros
  • Dont have to drive in traffic
Cons
  • No food on train saturday for customers for long journey
Loss
$80
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Air condition went out on the handicap care about two hours into our trip.

Very crowded with handicap oversized equipment stinky bodies dirty restrooms no room for my luggage poor experience for my two grandsons first train trips d going to Longview Texas. Staff says call customer relations. I have had a hard time trying to make contact and I am still on hold as I write. Coughing man without a mask. Grandsons had to smell corn feet women that took their shoes and socks off. This is not what I wanted for my grandsons and I request an a commendation for this poor service that was paid for in advance. Thank you Zevernett Holloway, grandmother
View full review
ID
#3854945 Review #3854945 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Virden, Illinois
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Resolved: VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER !.

Update by user Aug 14, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with settlement agreement. i was helped.

Original review posted by user Aug 14, 2022
The customer services Rep who assisted me today was exceptional. He was incredibly patient & knowledgable. He made me feel that I was an important client. It makes me want to travel by AMTRAK more often. He was an Eleven out of Ten. He was Great !

User's recommendation: Trust the workers.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#3853314 Review #3853314 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York
New Reviewer

A refund on my canceled trip

The refund request form doesn't accept International numbers so had to register the matter on the general enquires form. To date, I have contacted them three times with no response. They cancelled my trip and notified me on the 18th July, over a month ago.. My first dealings with Amtrak .. Truly woeful.
View full review
ID
#3853017 Review #3853017 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Mitcham, England

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Lost cane

August 5 Train # 8 Spokane WA Cane was left behind Name and address is on the cane Please return to me when found Shanna Loutherback 509936****
View full review
ID
#3847217 Review #3847217 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Spokane, Washington
Preferred solution
Deliver product or service ordered

Not happy with Amtrak

Not happy with Amtrak
We were held up on the track for over three hours there were limited food and we were just stuck on the train we were not able to get off refresh air or anything when we got to San Francisco and transferred to the buses the driver did not take us to the destination and he was very rude I was not happy with this ride

User's recommendation: Flying would be better.

View full review
ID
#3837289 Review #3837289 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Medicine Hat, Alberta
New Reviewer

2hour wait for the train 9-6-22

The train was scheduled to leave at 11:15.the frist delay was 12:55 but train didn't come until 1:55pm it was crowded.and I was very uncomfortable I sat in front of a mom&child kick seat half the trip.miss my ride the the concert.how ever I will be riding the train again on 9-9-22.there y'all should give have my money back please &thank you.

User's recommendation: Call ahead to see what time the train leave.

View full review
ID
#3834145 Review #3834145 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tarboro, North Carolina
Loss
$50
Preferred solution
Price reduction

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint

refund for this trip as it was the worst experience of travel I've ever had. Train left an hour late and no announcements or information. Got on and was directed to sleeping units for a seat. When I came back there were none (as lots of people sleeping on 2) and no...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3826821 Review #3826821 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cumbernauld, Scotland
Service
Amtrak Customer Care
Cons
  • No reply to complaint
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Complaint

I would like a refund for this trip as it was the worst experience of travel I've ever had. Train left an hour late and no announcements or information. Got on and was directed to sleeping units for a seat. When I came back there were none (as lots of people sleeping...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3826811 Review #3826811 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cumbernauld, Scotland

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Long time rewards member but I was bumped down from Business Class to Coach!

Amtrak - Long time rewards member but I was bumped down from Business Class to Coach!
Update by user Jul 30, 2022

I don't expect anything to develop as a result of this experience with Amtrak since I cannot submit any complaint information directly to them online and the wait times to speak to a real live person are ridiculously long. They seem to make it nearly impossible for...

View full review
View full review
ID
#3809639 Review #3809639 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Service
Amtrak Train Service
Preferred solution
Too late for any acceptable solution. I'm notifying Bank of America that this is how Amtrak treats their cardholders!
New Reviewer

Schedule

NI still havent received the callback I was promised last night. I need to upgrade and I need to change departure dates.
View full review
1 comment
#2223321

Good luck! Their customer service leaves much to be desired.

ID
#3806668 Review #3806668 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Canby, Oregon
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

I wasn't able to get in touch with a representative to assist me with my travel plans.

I keep getting a recording which the recording wasn't answering my questions. I aske for a representative I need got connected to a representative.

User's recommendation: To remove the recording and put live people in place to answer questions.

View full review
ID
#3805328 Review #3805328 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
New Reviewer

Change my trip

Cannot contact Amtrack! Phone number doesn't work and email also does nit go through!! Impossible for international visitors to navigate

User's recommendation: Dont bother.

View full review
ID
#3785198 Review #3785198 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article