Most helpful review

Website Sucks

12/11/17 - I went in to make reservations for a round trip from Washington DC to NYC, and back. I messed with it for 20 minutes and couldn't get a return ticket. It used to be easy. No wonder these *** are losing money. I'll fly or drive. *** them. Why do I...
View full review
View full review
47 comments
#2179058

it's 2022 and it's still horrible! It is just sitting there waiting, i guess, for me to enter a return date, even though I selected the "One Way" option from their choice area. It is literally doing nothing to help me see if there are any train trip options going from one place to another

View more comments
ID
#1146175 Review #1146175 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Amtrak Website
Cons
  • Website
Reason of review
See what I wrote
New Reviewer

Website issues and customer service

Original review updated by user Sep 27, 2022
I tried most of today from 11:00 AM to 6:00 PM to purchase 2 tickets. After I typed in all my information, the website would not make the purchase. This happened several times throughout the day. I finally had to use a customer service rep to make my ticket purchase,...
View full review
View full review
ID
#4022394 Review #4022394 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cottage Grove, Oregon

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Amtrak was extremely late reaching my destinations. A total of 4.5 hours late!

Original review updated by user Sep 24, 2022
My train was scheduled for 8:20 am Cary to Philly arrive 5:35pm, my arrival was 7pm. My return to Cary was scheduled 12:36 pm and arrival 9.22 pm. I arrived at my destination after midnight. Train was slow as molasses, they made no announcements, we stood there between stations for approx 40 minutes with no power, no air, no ventilation. The bathrooms were not all working and some were very nasty. My trip to Philly was over 10 hours without internet access. Some of the staff were short with me as well when I asked why we were taking so long.

User's recommendation: Avoid Amtrak!

View full review
ID
#4006864 Review #4006864 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Amtrak Train Service
Pros
  • Cheap
Cons
  • Everything else
Loss
$220
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Disgusting train bathrooms and cars

Update by user Sep 23, 2022

i just spoke to customer "relations"rudecondescendingindifferentso ill save you all the time dont bother calling them they do not care about your "petty problem" sad

Update by user Sep 23, 2022

i called them im currently on hold 26 minutes and counting

Original review posted by user Sep 23, 2022
so gross train 91 and 92 *** allover the floors and smells rotten yuk Wtf,,,.. . lllllooooo123456****123****

User's recommendation: hold your breath and hope you can deal with this.

View full review
ID
#4001764 Review #4001764 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Pros
  • Cheap
Cons
  • Disgusting bathroom
  • Rude passengers
Preferred solution
clean your bathroom during the trips ,its really gross
New Reviewer

Price Gouging

Dear Sir/Madam: My partner and I traveled down to Washington on August 29th and we needed to leave Washington early on August 31st. My partner Pam Brecht went to the window and the attendant would only do one ticket change at a time. Why, we had no idea, since we were...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3914375 Review #3914375 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
New Reviewer

No BAGGAGE only overhead in Car.

Very sad no luggage allowed. How Ridiculous Bla-bla So I choose to use Greyhound bus. Anyone who travel need To check baggage
View full review
ID
#3888953 Review #3888953 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Detroit, Michigan
Pros
  • I know of any advantage
Cons
  • For goodness sakes very restricted travel
Preferred solution
Ability to Check Lyggage
New Reviewer

Trains

My Destination does not allow Baggage. So as a result I will be GOING GREYHOUND. Very sad. I will miss the trip.
View full review
ID
#3888926 Review #3888926 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Detroit, Michigan
New Reviewer

Services

I will start by saying this this was the worst experience I ever had and this we're I will start by saying I was ordering food and coffee. The worker Bruce. Don't know his last name.he's just not fit for this to serve costumer's he started getting wise remarks and the...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3880542 Review #3880542 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hollywood, Florida
Loss
$215
Preferred solution
Full refund

Customer relations. Complaint

Amtrak - Customer relations. Complaint
I'm not sure that this was resolved. Were the suggestions I made taken into consideration or implemented?

User's recommendation: Call me please 347-727-****.

View full review
ID
#3879736 Review #3879736 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Queens, New York

I needed a train ticket and couldn’t get one your company should have better service hours.

Due to your company not being available till later hours I ended up stuck in Boston.Needing to be at my destination

User's recommendation: Make sure to check your times of departure and that the company is open during them hours .

View full review
ID
#3876653 Review #3876653 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Leitchfield, Kentucky

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

ABSOLUTE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE

Amtrak - ABSOLUTE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE
I had a train from Fayetteville, NC to BWI Baltimore, MD, and it was to depart at 12:22pm and arrive at 8:22pm. I DID NOT ARRIVE AT BWI UNTIL 11:45. this is the worst experience ive ever had with Amtrak After this I will absolutely never book with them again. NOT TO...
View full review
View full review
ID
#3867882 Review #3867882 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Cons
  • Extremely uncomfortable seats
  • Rude workers
  • Train almost always delayed
Loss
$216
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Resolved: Customer relations. Complaint

Update by user Aug 16, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with apology.

Original review posted by user Aug 16, 2022
Rude agent at Penn Station Train announcements were made late, was not able to sit with wife on the way to Washington

User's recommendation: Address rude agents. Announce train departure at least half hour before train leaves.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#3858210 Review #3858210 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
Pros
  • Dependable service
Cons
  • Occasion rude station agents
Preferred solution
Address rude agents Announce trains at least half hour before departure
New Reviewer

Refund

Amtrak - Refund
I had a ADA paratransit bus that was supposed to pick me up between 2:30 and 3:00 to bring me to train. It didn't come until 3:15 then the driver did not know how to use wheelchair lift.bdidnot get me to train station until 3:40 for a 3:45 departure. Could not find elevator for track two so by the time I got to train it had left
View full review
ID
#3855847 Review #3855847 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hyde Park, New York
Loss
$66
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Find out departure time to west plalm from Tampa

Amtrak - Find out departure time to west plalm from Tampa
I was delayed for 3 days due to mismanagement on departure times..it cost me 60 dollars in Uber and extensive confusion..I would like a refund please

User's recommendation: Check departure times..allow 3-5 hours delayed.

View full review
ID
#3854983 Review #3854983 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tampa, Florida
Pros
  • Dont have to drive in traffic
Cons
  • No food on train saturday for customers for long journey
Loss
$80
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Air condition went out on the handicap care about two hours into our trip.

Very crowded with handicap oversized equipment stinky bodies dirty restrooms no room for my luggage poor experience for my two grandsons first train trips d going to Longview Texas. Staff says call customer relations. I have had a hard time trying to make contact and I am still on hold as I write. Coughing man without a mask. Grandsons had to smell corn feet women that took their shoes and socks off. This is not what I wanted for my grandsons and I request an a commendation for this poor service that was paid for in advance. Thank you Zevernett Holloway, grandmother
View full review
ID
#3854945 Review #3854945 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Virden, Illinois
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Resolved: VERY HAPPY CUSTOMER !.

Update by user Aug 14, 2022

Company fixed the issue and I have been provided with settlement agreement. i was helped.

Original review posted by user Aug 14, 2022
The customer services Rep who assisted me today was exceptional. He was incredibly patient & knowledgable. He made me feel that I was an important client. It makes me want to travel by AMTRAK more often. He was an Eleven out of Ten. He was Great !

User's recommendation: Trust the workers.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#3853314 Review #3853314 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
New York, New York

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article